Houses in multiple occupation

Additional licensing for HMOs

Some areas of Thurrock have additional licensing rules for a house in multiple occupation (HMO).

In the Thurrock wards listed below, a HMO licence is need for properties that:

  • are occupied by 3 or 4 people
  • have 2 or more households

These rules will be in force from 1 June 2019 until 31 May 2024.

All other rules for the licensing of certain HMOs still apply in these wards.

The wards to which additional licensing for HMOs applies are listed below.

Ward Area
Grays Riverside Grays
Grays Thurrock Grays
Little Thurrock Blackshots Grays
Stifford Clays Grays
Aveley and Uplands Ockendon
Belhus Ockendon
Ockendon Ockendon
West Thurrock and South Stifford Purfleet and West Thurrock
Chadwell St Mary Tilbury
Tilbury Riverside and Thurrock Park Tilbury
Tilbury St Chads Tilbury

A list of all streets and roads in these wards can be downloaded below.

You can check your ward by using our My Area road of postcode search.

The wards are highlighted on the overview map below.